Gear Review: Fishpond Westwater Lumbar Pack

Looking for a simple, compact & waterproof fishing pack for an afternoon on the water? Check out the Fishpond Westwater Lumbar Pack.

I have to admit: I’ve always loved Fishpond products. Their Nomad Wading Net is my daily go-to and I have used their chest/backpack integraged systems and other lumbar packs. So, when 8200 Mountain Sports asked if I’d demo and write a review for the Westwater Lumbar Pack, I was pretty stoked.

Here are some of the tech specs:

  • TPU welded fabric construction
  • YKK #10 water resistant zippers with oversize rubber pulls
  • Integrated guide net slot
  • Large zipper opening with two interior accessory pouches
  • Accessories D-rings and attachment tabs
  • Mesh lumbar support for increased ventilation and comfort
  • Bottom cinch straps for an extra layer or rod tube
  • Adjustable padded shoulder straps included
  • New and improved Cyclepond fabric
fishpond-bag-at-lake
Fishpond Westerwader Lumbar Pack

The Test

So far, I’ve used this pack for my wade fishing needs and as a camera bag for a float trip.

Pros (things I love!): 

  • Low profile & surprisingly roomy capacity
    • This pack sucks in nicely against my waist and I was able to fit a surprising amount of stuff.
    • For wading/fishing, I carried 3 Tacky Fly Fishing boxes, accessories like my forceps, tippet, floatant, indicators, etc., and my cell phone. Everything fit without any issue.
    • As a camera bag, I carried my Nikon D7200 with a 18-140mm lens and a telephoto lens (55-300) and it zipped and carried just fine
  • Fabric & zippers – this fabric is awesome.
    • Water tight and abrasion-resistent: I hiked through willows and threw the bag around a drift boat and my vehicle and it handled well.
    • Also, from what I can see, there aren’t any worn areas or punctures and the tabs, pulls, etc. have held up well.
  • External options – you can hang anything and everything off this pack!
    • Fishpond packs usually have some great features, but I especially appreciate the number of spots (D rings, attachment tabs, etc.) on this pack where I can my tippet, nippers, floatant, deep soft weight, and more.
  • Price – for $100, you can get a comfortable and dependable pack from a CO-based company. Sounds like a pretty good deal to me!

Cons (thinks that  could be improved…):

  • Zippers – I’d love to see a left and right-side zipper on this pack’s main compartment. But, that might cause a gap in the seal and drastically effect the waterproofing. I can do without the second zipper, if that’s the case. But it’s nice to be able to open from either side, if needed.

The Verdict

This really is a great day pack for those of you fly fishing folks that love a solid fanny-er, I mean, hip pack 🙂

If you’d like to get your own, you can order from Fishpond, but you can also call up 8200 Mountain Sports in South Fork, CO. And while you’re on the phone, send Joel a big howdy. Or, if you stop in, make sure to grab some really well-tied flies before hitting the water!

fishpond-pack-with-boxes

For those of you not in the market for a hip-style pack, stay tuned! I’ll have another review of another Colorado company, Emerger Fly Fishing out of Ft. Collins.

Leave a Reply

